New thoughts on the new season

This is an old blog post from my anime-planet account, which can be found here: Anime-planet

5 MAY 2013

So, I guess this could be called: Part 2 in what I tihnk about the new season. As I’ve seen more then one episode of quite a few series now, I think it’s time to rate them once more, to see what’s worth watching and what definetly isn’t.

 

Arata kangatari: A nice adventure anime. It’s not the best what this season has to offer, but it’s certainly watchable without having to put up with your eyes bleeding out of your face.

Attack on titan (shingeki no kyoujin): This was perhaps the biggest let down for me this season, but that’s because I was so hyped for it before it had even started. When I started watching I was expecting some hot human on titan action, which just isn’t what the anime isn’t about. If you get into this without the hype it’s probably a very good anime, but I ruined this one for myself.

Date a live: How this isn’t a port from some eroge is beyond me, but apparently the source lies in a light-novel. It’s a generic harem anime with some magic and scifi elements thrown in. Nothing all that special.

Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet(Suisei no Gargantia): This one is pretty awesome so far. The action scenes might be a bit cheesy, but the story is pretty solid. Dude from super-tech civilization gets thrown to ancient civilization (us)? Sign me up.

Ginga Kikoutai Majestic Prince : Another pleasant surprise. I was quite unsure what to think after the first episode, but it’s getting better as the characters progress through the story.

 

Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W: I don’t want to touch this series with a 3 ft long pole no matter what anyone says. It’s bad enough I’ve watched through the first season.

Hataraku Maou-sama!: The rating on this series is really absurdly high. The humor is bad, the story is not that fun (I mean, come on, from a magical world to our plain normal world? That’s not what I’m watching anime for =/). Maybe I’ll pick this up later.

Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride: This series deserves the same comment as Nyaruko, so look that one up to see what I want to say here.

Kakumeiki Valvrave Code geass clone much? Guy gets superpowers and a robot to rescue surpressed nation. Don’t get me wrong, as I liked code geass, so I’ll be following this one, but I can’t help but compare the two.

 

Mushibugyou This one is as manly as it gets this season. It’s a nice watch, which I’ll probably be comparing to bleach. So far, it’s all good.

 

 

TBC..

 

 

Leave a Reply

